DSC_2883c.jpg

Solutions for Farmers & Food for Bees

 

News & Events

 

Notre projet et nos partenaires dans les médias !

October 2021 - people talk about us on the radio

You can listen to a summary of our research and our project by Jami Crook on CJMQ - The QUBE (at 7:15 pm) - in English.

May 2021 - drought

Our partner Louis Drainville - Terre-Eau Inc. talks about the benefit of windbreak hedges to increase water reserves in agricultural areas in radio Canada and La Terre de Chez Nous.

May 2021 - sustainable agriculture

Our partner Frédéric Jobin-Lawler from L'Abri Végétal talks about the Quebec government's plan to help greenhouse companies abandon fossil fuels on radio Canada.

theqube1.jpg
logo.jpg
logos_pagserv_1920x1080_v214.png

Current projects

Multidisciplinary science for sustainable development: reconciling agriculture and the preservation of native pollinators in Canada

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • Promote the health and nutrition of native pollinators

 

  • Promote the health and sustainability of agricultural production

222.png

Consideration of the economic and social reality of farmers

The establishment of sustainable agriculture requires integrating the interests of all stakeholders. This entails considering the needs and obstacles faced by producers when initiating research projects. We conduct surveys and interviews with farmers in Ontario and Quebec to assess their main interests and limitations in implementing bumblebee-friendly management practices. These surveys will also allow us to integrate their suggestions and recommendations to identify plants and associations of high agro-economic value to include in our experiments on the health and performance of bumblebees.

Nutritional complementarity of cultivated and native plants for bumblebees

Monocultures restrict pollinators to a monotonous, often deficient diet, increasing the risk of disease and reducing pollination and reproductive performance. We seek to identify the best combinations of plants (cultivated or cultivated-indigenous) providing a nutritious pollen resource adapted to bumblebees over an annual cycle, in order to target the combinations to be favored in agricultural environments to fight against malnutrition and decline of colonies.

Image: a sunflower in a cornfield. Sunflowers have interesting nutritional and medicinal values ​​for pollinators. We are now looking to identify other plants with similar properties and adapted to our climate in Canada.

20180711_145033.jpg
IMG_20210422_152711_resized_20210511_065

Improving the health of bumblebees in greenhouses to preserve wild pollinators

Commercial bumblebees are used on a large scale for the pollination of greenhouse crops. However, they often have a low resistance to diseases, and may thus pose an additional threat to wild bees, by increasing the transmission of parasites. We want to test to what extent the establishment of sunflower strips, whose pollen possesses medicinal values, operates as a simple and effective solution to reduce the parasitic load of commercial bumblebees in greenhouses before they enter in contact with wild bumblebees and other native bees.

 

Qui sommes nous ?

We are a group of conservation researchers and practitioners in Quebec, Ontario and Massachussets, working closely with producers, agronomists, entrepreneurs and policy makers. We seek to identify solutions for a sustainable agriculture that combine the socio-economic reality of farmers with the ecological and nutritional needs of native pollinators.

Mathilde Tissier

Valérie Fournier

p_a_Kx8YafHBkDygX1OfBa42Ew==_i200_5dcc35245c8e07.67931585.jpeg

Patrick Bergeron

 

Sarah Mackell

Lynn Adler

file-20200219-11000-co3u6o.jpg

Sheila Colla

Carolyn-Callaghan-440x290.jpg

Carolyn Callaghan

Contact us

Bishop's University - 2600 Rue College, Dept. Biology, J302, Sherbrooke, J1M 1Z7

Contact us at: sppb-sffb[a]tutanota.com

DSC_3038b.jpg

DSC_2883c.jpg

des Solutions pour les Producteurs & du Pollen pour les Bourdons

 

Actualités et événements

 

Notre projet et nos partenaires dans les médias !

Octobre 2021 - on parle de nous à la radio

Vous pouvez écouter un résumé de nos recherches et de notre projet par Jami Crook sur CJMQ - The QUBE (à la minute 19:15) - en anglais seulement !

Mai 2021 - sécheresse

Notre partenaire Louis Drainville – Terre-Eau Inc. parle du bénéfice des haies brise-vents pour augmenter les réserves d’eau en milieu agricole dans radio canada et La Terre de Chez Nous.

Mai 2021 - agriculture durable

Notre partenaire Frédéric Jobin-Lawler de L’Abri Végétal parle du plan du gouvernement du Québec pour aider les entreprises serricoles à délaisser les énergies fossiles sur radio canada

theqube1.jpg
logo.jpg
logos_pagserv_1920x1080_v214.png

Les projets en cours

La science pluridiscplinaire au service d'un développement durable: concilier agriculture et préservation des pollinisateurs indigènes au Canada

  • Promouvoir la santé et la nutrition des  pollinisateurs indigènes

 

  • Promouvoir la santé et la durabilité des productions agricoles

222.png

Considération de la réalité économique et sociale des producteurs

La mise en place d'une agriculture durable nécessite d'intégrer les intérêts des différentes parties prenantes. Cela passe notamment par la considération des besoins et obstacles des producteurs dans la mise en place de projets de recherche. Nous réalisons des enquêtes et des entretiens avec des agriculteurs de l'Ontario et du Québec afin d'évaluer leurs principaux intérêts et limites dans la mise en oeuvre de solutions favorables aux bourdons. Mais également afin d'obtenir leurs suggestions et recommandations pour identifier les plantes et associations à haute valeur agro-économique à inclure dans nos expériences sur la santé et les performances des bourdons.

Complémentarité nutritionnelle des plantes cultivées et indigènes pour les bourdons

Les monocultures restreignent les pollinisateurs à une alimentation monotone, souvent carencée, augmentant le risque de maladies et réduisant les performances de pollinisation et de reproduction. Nous cherchons à identifier quelles sont les meilleures associations de plantes (cultivées ou cultivées-indigènes) fournissant une ressource en pollen nutritive et adaptée aux bourdons sur un cycle annuel, afin de cibler les combinaisons à favoriser en milieu agricole pour lutter contre la malnutrition et le déclin des colonies.

Image : un tournesol au milieu du maïs. Le tournesol possède des valeurs nutritives et médicinales intéressantes pour les pollinisateurs. Nous cherchons maintenant à identifier d'autres plantes aux propriétés similaires et favorables avec le climat à nos latitudes.

20180711_145033.jpg
IMG_20210422_152711_resized_20210511_065

Amélioration de la santé des bourdons en milieu serricole afin de préserver les pollinisateurs sauvages

Les bourdons commerciaux sont utilisés à grande échelle pour la pollinisation de cultures en serre. Toutefois, ils sont moins résistants aux maladies, et constituent ainsi une menace supplémentaire pour les abeilles sauvages, en augmentant la transmission de parasites. Nous souhaitons tester dans quelle mesure l'implantation de bandes de tournesol, dont le pollen possède des valeurs médicinales, dans les serres du Québec opère comme une solution simple et efficace pour réduire la charge parasitaire des bourdons commerciaux avant qu'ils n'entrent en contact avec les bourdons et autres abeilles sauvages.

 

Qui sommes nous ?

Nous sommes un groupe de chercheuses.eurs et praticiennes de la conservation au Québec, en Ontario et au Massachusetts travaillant en étroite collaboration avec des producteurs.trices, des agronomes, des entrepreneurs et des décisionnaires, afin d'identifier des solutions pour une agriculture durable qui combinent la réalité socio-économique du monde agricole avec les besoins écologiques et nutritionnels des pollinisateurs indigènes.

Mathilde Tissier

Valérie Fournier

p_a_Kx8YafHBkDygX1OfBa42Ew==_i200_5dcc35245c8e07.67931585.jpeg

Patrick Bergeron

 

Sarah Mackell

Lynn Adler

file-20200219-11000-co3u6o.jpg

Sheila Colla

Carolyn-Callaghan-440x290.jpg

Carolyn Callaghan

Nous contacter

Bishop's University - 2600 Rue College, Dept. Biology, J302, Sherbrooke, J1M 1Z7

Écrivez-nous à : sppb-sffb[a]tutanota.com

DSC_3038b.jpg