Projects

Nutritional complementarity of cultivated and native plants for bumblebees

Context

 

Monocultures restrict pollinators to a monotonous, often deficient diet, increasing the risk of disease and reducing pollination and reproductive performance. We seek to identify the best combinations of plants (cultivated or cultivated-indigenous) providing a nutritious pollen resource adapted to bumblebees over an annual cycle, in order to target the combinations to be favored in agricultural environments to fight against malnutrition and decline of wild bees.

Approach used

We will identify pollen from cultivated or native plants with high nutritional value and with medicinal potential for bumblebees, and assess their complementarity with the main crops in Eastern Canada (corn, soybeans, blueberries, cranberries, apples, strawberries, tomatoes).

We are conducting studies in a controlled environment (animal house), semi-controlled environment (greenhouses) and in the wild (field), in which we seek to evaluate the benefits of different pollen (tested individually and in combination) on the health, reproduction and survival of several bumblebee species.

3.jpg

Blueberry field - area where the habitat is dominated by blueberries, which bloom in June and are very attractive to bumblebees. However, its flowering is short and does not provide all the nutrients necessary for the health and performance of the colonies.

champ-de-maïs-contre-un-ciel-bleu-monoculture-en-allemagne-du-nord-vert-197935412.jpg

Corn - its cultivation is widespread in Quebec, especially in Montérégie. Although widely pollinated by wind, corn, which is generally cultivated over very large areas, is heavily visited by pollinators during its flowering. However, it is deficient in some essential nutrients affecting behavior and reproduction.

We will also carry out biochemical studies on each pollen, in order to measure their content in various essential nutrients for native bees.

Course of studies

April 2021 - We initiated a study, in collaboration with Wildlife Preservation Canada, on the benefit of pollen from trees native to Quebec and Ontario on the reproduction and health of queens of two species of bumblebees natives of these Provinces.

 

This study is an integral part of WPC's native pollinator initiative, in which queens of different species are bred under controlled conditions and then released to support declining wild populations.

Trailer Banner_July 20 2021.jpg

(c) Sarah MacKell - WPC

May 2021 - Bumblebee queens were captured in southern Ontario and placed in the animal facilities of the African Lion Safari where the study is conducted. We will test the benefit of pollen from three different species identified as having high nutritional values for bumblebees, compared to a mix of wild flower pollens.

The pollens were obtained thanks to our collaborators , Yann Loranger and Isabelle Rabbat.

July 2021 - here are some pictures of the growing colonies!

trailer set up under red light_June 2 2021.jpg

Installation of queens in the animal facilities under red light - why? Because bumblebees do not see in the red, allowing to recreate a dark environment like their burrows in the wild. (c) Sarah MacKell, WPC.

Impatiens colony with newly emerged worker_June 22 2021.jpg

Queen Bombus impatiens with her workers. Do you know how to identify young emerging individuals? Their hair is still white, and will take on a yellow color over the hours / days, while their abdomen will turn black. (c) Sarah MacKell, WPC.

gris colony with 2 workers_July 6 2021.jpg

Queen Bombus griseocollis with her two new workers, taking care of the brood. Colonies of this species are generally smaller in size than those of the species Bombus impatiens.

Improving bumblebees' health in greenhouses to preserve wild pollinators

Context

 

Commercial bumblebees are used on a large scale for the pollination of greenhouse crops. However, they are less resistant to disease, and thus pose an additional threat to wild bees, by increasing the transmission of parasites. We want to test to what extent the establishment of sunflower strips, the pollen of which has medicinal values, in greenhouses in Quebec operates as a simple and effective solution to reduce the parasitic load of commercial bumblebees before they enter. contact with bumblebees and other wild bees.

IMG_20210422_152711_resized_20210511_065238738.jpg

Ruche commerciale de bourdons (Bombus impatiens) pour la pollinisation des cultures en serre - (c) Mathilde Tissier

Course of the study

April 2021 - identification of participating greenhouses and installation of the first beehives

May 2021 - monitoring of the hives in each greenhouse by non-invasive capture of the workers (collection of excrement to assess workers' health), before releasing them into the greenhouse

June 2021 - Sunflower transplants in greenhouses and monitoring of beehives

July 2021 - Introduction of new hives in greenhouses during the peak of flowering and non-invasive monitoring of workers

Some pictures of the study

Bourdon Bromont.jpg

April 2021 - worker from a commercial beehive - (c) Mathilde Tissier

2107 2.jpg

July 2021 - worker on a sunflower - (c) Mathilde Tissier

2107 4.jpg

July 2021 - 5 bumblebees on the same flower! It is a worker and 4 males. How to differentiate them? Males do not have a pollen basket on their legs (and they have one more segment on the abdomen) - (c) Mathilde Tissier

Nos projets

Complémentarité nutritionnelle des plantes cultivées et indigènes pour les bourdons

Contexte

 

Les monocultures restreignent les pollinisateurs à une alimentation monotone, souvent carencée, augmentant le risque de maladies et réduisant les performances de pollinisation et de reproduction. Nous cherchons à identifier quelles sont les meilleures associations de plantes (cultivées ou cultivées-indigènes) fournissant une ressource en pollen nutritive et adaptée aux bourdons sur un cycle annuel, afin de cibler les combinaisons à favoriser en milieu agricole pour lutter contre la malnutrition et le déclin des colonies.

Approche utilisée

Nous allons identifier des pollens de plantes cultivées ou indigènes à haute valeur nutritive et avec un potentiel médicinal pour les bourdons, et évaluer leur complémentarité avec les principales cultures du Québec et de l'Ontario (maïs, soya, bleuet, canneberge, pomme, fraises, tomates).

Pour cela, des études sont réalisées en milieu contrôlé (animalerie), semi-contrôlé (serres) et sauvage (champ), dans lesquelles nous cherchons à évaluer les bénéfices de différents pollens (testés individuellement et en combinaison) sur la santé, la reproduction et la survie de plusieurs espèces de bourdons.

3.jpg

Bleuetière - zone où l'habitat est dominé par le bleuet, qui fleurit en Juin et est très attractif pour les bourdons. Sa floraison est toutefois courte et n'offre pas tous les nutriments nécessaires à la santé et aux performances des colonies.

champ-de-maïs-contre-un-ciel-bleu-monoculture-en-allemagne-du-nord-vert-197935412.jpg

Maïs - sa culture est très répandue au Québec, notamment en Montérégie. Bien que largement pollinisé par le vent, le maïs, dont la culture s'étend généralement sur de très grandes surfaces, est fortement visité par les pollinisateurs lors de sa floraison. Il est toutefois carencé en certains nutriments essentiels affectant le comportement et la reproduction.

Nous réaliserons également des études biochimiques sur chaque pollen, afin de mesurer leurs contenus en différents nutriments essentiels pour les pollinisateurs indigènes.

Déroulement des études

Avril 2021 - Nous avons initié une étude, en collaboration avec Conservation de la Faune Canada (CFC), sur le bénéfice de pollens d'arbres indigènes du Québec et de l'Ontario sur la reproduction et la santé de reines de deux espèces de bourdons indigènes de ces Provinces.

 

Cette étude fait partie intégrante de l'initiative de rétablissement des pollinisateurs indigènes de CFC, dans le cadre de laquelle des reines de différentes espèces sont reproduites en conditions contrôlées puis relâchées pour renforcer les populations sauvages en déclin.

Trailer Banner_July 20 2021.jpg

(c) Sarah MacKell - CFC

Mai 2021 - des reines bourdons ont été capturées dans le sud de l'Ontario et placées dans les installations animalières du Safari African Lion où l'étude est réalisée. Nous allons tester le bénéfice de pollens issus de trois espèces différentes identifiées comme ayant de hautes valeurs nutritives, en comparaison d'un mix de pollens de fleurs sauvages.

Les pollens ont été obtenus grâce à nos collaborateurs, Yann Loranger et Isabelle Rabbat.

Juillet 2021 - voici quelques photos des colonies en développement !

trailer set up under red light_June 2 2021.jpg

Installation des reines dans l'animalerie sous lumière rouge - pourquoi ? Car les bourdons ne voient pas dans le rouge, permettant de recréér un environnement sombre comme leurs terriers en milieu naturel. (c) Sarah MacKell, CFC.

Impatiens colony with newly emerged worker_June 22 2021.jpg

Reine Bombus impatiens avec ses ouvrières. Savez-vous comment identifier les jeunes individus venant d'émerger ? Leurs poils sont encore blancs, et prendront une couleur jaune au fil des heures/jours, alors que leur abdomen deviendra noir.

gris colony with 2 workers_July 6 2021.jpg

Reine Bombus griseocollis avec ses deux nouvelles ouvrières, en train de s'occuper du couvain. Les colonies de cette espèce sont en général de plus petite taille que celles de l'espèce Bombus impatiens.

Amélioration de la santé des bourdons dans les serres maraîchères afin de préserver les pollinisateurs sauvages

Contexte 

 

Les bourdons commerciaux sont utilisés à grande échelle pour la pollinisation de cultures en serre. Toutefois, ils sont moins résistants aux maladies, et constituent ainsi une menace supplémentaire pour les abeilles sauvages, en augmentant la transmission de parasites.

 

Nous souhaitons tester dans quelle mesure l'implantation de bandes de tournesol, dont le pollen possède des valeurs médicinales, opère comme une solution simple et efficace pour réduire la charge parasitaire des bourdons commerciaux dans les serres du Québec avant qu'ils n'entrent en contact avec les bourdons et autres abeilles sauvages.

Cette étude ne serait pas réalisable sans nos partenaires, merci à elles et eux !

IMG_20210422_152711_resized_20210511_065238738.jpg

Ruche commerciale de bourdons (Bombus impatiens) pour la pollinisation des cultures en serre - (c) Mathilde Tissier

Déroulement de l'étude

Avril 2021 - identification des serres participantes et installation des premières ruches

Mai 2021 - suivi des ruches dans chaque serre par capture non-invasive des ouvrières (récolte des excréments pour évaluer leur état de santé), avant de les relâcher dans la serre

Juin 2021 - Transplants de tournesols dans les serres et poursuite du suivi des ruches

Juillet 2021 - Introduction de nouvelles ruches dans les serres lors du pic de floraison du tournesol et suivi non-invasif des ouvrières

Quelques photos de l'étude

Bourdon Bromont.jpg

Avril 2021 - ouvrière issue d'une ruche commerciale - (c) Mathilde Tissier

2107 2.jpg

Juillet 2021 - ouvrière sur une fleur de tournesol - (c) Mathilde Tissier

2107 4.jpg

Juillet 2021 - 5 bourdons sur une même fleur ! Il s'agit d'une ouvrière et de 4 mâles. Comment les différencier ? Les mâles n'ont pas de corbeille à pollen sur les pattes (et ils ont un segment de plus à l'abdomen) - (c) Mathilde Tissier