"Solutions for farmers & food for bumblebees"

The project was born in 2021, carried by the Liber Ero program which supports young researchers in Conservation Biology in the development and dissemination of research that facilitates the resolution of conservation and management issues important to Canada.

LiberEro%202021%20_edited.png
 

CONTEXT

In Canada, more than a billion dollars worth of fruits and vegetables depend on wild bees and bumblebees for pollination. These pollinators also pollinate many wild plants, and are therefore essential to maintaining the integrity and functionality of many ecosystems. As they are active at low temperatures, bumblebees are important pollinators in our latitudes. However, seven species are already threatened with extinction in Canada.
 
The main threats are habitat loss, parasitic infections, malnutrition and exposure to pesticides, associated with intensive agriculture. To act effectively on these threats, we must: 1) re-establish a dialogue with farmers and integrate their considerations when launching research and conservation projects; 2) improve our knowledge of the needs of native pollinators; 3) ensure a rapid and efficient transfer of the knowledge acquired from the various stakeholders.
 
THE PROJECT
 
This two-year project, to improve the health of native pollinators, is built around three main objectives / components:

      1. Carry out surveys among farmers to determine their main interests and obstacles in the implementation of solutions favorable to native pollinators, and to identify cultivable or native plants with agro-economic interests.

       2. Improve knowledge on the nutrition and physiology of native pollinators in eastern Canada with a focus on bumblebees (Bombus spp.)

  3. Transfer, quickly and efficiently, the knowledge acquired to the development of favorable pollinator practices and sustainable agriculture.

The producer surveys will be implemented very soon. The results will help guide the trials carried out in the second section on the nutrition and performance of bumblebees and thus the recommendations made in the third section.

FUNDING AND COLLABORATIONS

This project is mainly funded by the Liber Ero program and supported by the MAPAQ through PAAR exploratory trials.

"Des solutions pour les producteurs et du pollen pour les bourdons"

Le projet est né en 2021, supporté par le programme Liber Ero qui soutient des jeunes chercheur.es en Biologie de la Conservation dans le développement et la diffusion de recherches qui facilitent la résolution de problèmes de conservation et de gestion importants pour le Canada.

LiberEro%202021%20_edited.png
 

CONTEXTE

Au Canada, plus d'un milliard de dollars de fruits et légumes dépendent des abeilles sauvages et des bourdons pour la pollinisation. Ces pollinisateurs assurent également la pollinisation de nombreuses plantes sauvages, et sont donc essentiels au maintien de l'intégrité et de la fonctionnalité de nombreux écosystèmes. Comme ils sont actifs à basse température, les bourdons sont d'importants pollinisateurs à nos latitudes. Toutefois, sept espèces sont déjà menacées d'extinction au Canada.
 
Les principales menaces sont la perte d'habitat, les infections parasitaires, la malnutrition et l'exposition aux pesticides, associées à l'agriculture intensive. Pour agir efficacement sur ces menaces, nous devons : 1) rétablir un dialogue avec les agriculteurs et intégrer leurs considérations lors du lancement de recherches et de projets de conservation ; 2) améliorer nos connaissances sur les besoins des pollinisateurs indigènes ; 3) assurer un transfert rapide et efficace des connaissances acquises auprès des différentes parties-prenantes.
 
LE PROJET
 
Ce projet de deux ans, pour améliorer la santé des pollinisateurs indigènes, se construit autour de trois grands objectifs/volets :   

1. Mener des enquêtes auprès des agriculteurs afin de déterminer leurs principaux intérêts et obstacles dans la mise en œuvre de solutions favorables aux pollinisateurs indigènes, et d'identifier des plantes cultivables ou indigènes présentant des intérêts agro-économiques.  

2. Améliorer les connaissances sur la nutrition et la physiologie des pollinisateurs indigènes dans l’Est du Canada en se focalisant sur les bourdons (Bombus spp.)

3. Transférer, rapidement et efficacement, les connaissances acquises à l’élaboration de pratiques favorables aux pollinisateurs et à une agriculture durable.

Les enquêtes auprès des producteurs seront mises en œuvre très prochainement. Les résultats permettront de guider les essais conduits dans le cadre du deuxième volet sur la nutrition et les performances des bourdons et ainsi les recommandations effectuées dans le troisième volet.

FINANCEMENTS ET COLLABORATIONS

Ce projet est financé majoritairement par le programme Liber Ero et par un soutien du MAPAQ via les essais exploratoires PAAR.